Can Anyone Tell Me the Century?

Don't make fun of cold people ... even if they do resemble sheep.

To be honest, I am quite intimidated by the idea of blogging.  I’m a Medievalist, which means, computers and the internet confuse me.  I’m also a Type-A perfectionist which means I probably suffer from chronic magnesium deficiency (I just read that today–one more thing to stress about this holiday season!) and in general blog-reading makes me worry that the next time I look in the mirror I will actually see a reflection of a slug.  If you are kind enough to actually read what I write I promise that I will try and not make you feel that way.  I am an imperfect wife, mother, daughter, and friend.  Many times I get short-tempered, am impatient, am ungrateful, and words blurt out of my mouth that shouldn’t. There, it’s in print.  Actually, to be honest, people’s blogs that make their lives seem like fairytales irritate the heck out of me.  I love my life, but it is no fairytale.  We live on one income and are trying to pay off 5 years of grad school, which means we get by with one car and currently live in a small, but lovely apartment.  We have a child with sensory issues, which translates into sleep issues, so I haven’t had a decent night’s sleep in, oh, about 5 years now.  We also live up north where it’s cold and people are not all that particularly friendly at times, and then to top if all off we have been called by Jesus Christ, the Creator and Sustainer of the Cosmos, to pray for our enemies and go about doing good everywhere.  Some days I feel like it’s all I can do to pray for the people I like, but I am a work in progress after all.  I haven’t yet mentally deciphered the feel I want for this blog–I imagine, like the life I live, it will feel a bit cluttered at times with ramblings and soap-boxes, inspiration and peace, joy and laughter, and somewhere amid all this will be ME, muddling along.  So, welcome, to my world … the (currently) frozen wintry place where a random sock is always missing.

Gallery

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. June
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 16:21:25

    Welcome to the blogging world. I wanted to chime in and tell you that I also am a Southern transplant. I promise you will eventually get used to the cold. And the people too. They are all really, very friendly but their ways are just different from those wonderful Southerns with their big smiles, good old ways and laid back, never in a hurry drawls. I think their biggest difference is all the shivering, shoveling and ice scraping they have to do during the year. That can exhaust a person. I think heat slows you down and warms you up and makes you have way more picnics. The south is also used to alot more new folks in the neighborhood. All those transients. Also, another thought I had was about your comment about praying for your enemies. It reminded me somehow of a blog I once read that a young mother of three wrote that said, “Some days when I get up in the mornings I pray that someone will show up, feed me, dress me and get me out the door.” I thought it was so hysterical and loved what she had put into words that so many people feel when they are overwhelmed. Growing up can be hard to do. Especially growing up spiritually. Yes, it can be hard to pray for enemies and to also take the next step and BLESS them. Wow! We all know that takes supernatural power from Jesus our source. I always try to remember that people in love sometimes appear to do CRAZY THINGS!!!!! I will try from this point forward to not blog on your blog and keep my comments shorter. Love you and again welcome to this new workd!

    Reply

  2. Allison
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 23:44:18

    I love long comments! Verbosity is a virtue in my book. Thanks, June!

    Reply

  3. Tim
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 21:51:47

    Welcome to the blogosphere!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

